an epiphany

Ride, ride my see-saw,

Take this place
On this trip
Just for me.

Ride, take a free ride,
Take my place
Have my seat
It’s for free.

I worked like a slave for years,
Sweat so hard just to end my fears.
Not to end my life a poor man,
But by now, I know I should have run.

Run, run my last race,
Take my place
Have this number
Of mine.

Run, run like a fire,
Don’t you run in
In the lanes
Run for time.

Left school with a first class pass,
Started work but as second class.
School taught one and one is two.
But right now, that answer just ain’t true.

Ah ah ah ah, ah ah ah ah, ah ah ah ah ah
Ah ah ah ah, ah ah ah ah, ah ah ah ah ah

My world is spinning around,
Everything is lost that I found.
People run, come ride with me,
Let’s find another place that’s free.

Ride, ride my see-saw,
Take this place
On this trip
Just for me.

Ride, take a free ride,
Take my place
Have my seat
It’s for free.

Ride, my see-saw.
Ride, ride, ride, my see-saw.
Ride, my see-saw…


What if, in our efforts to move our countrymen from apathy to activism we used music to do so? What would it look like? This strategy I mean. Maybe we can start our writing on our blogs like this; “Required…. listen before reading”

What if we, the 99% could dance and sing our way to freedom and our ideals of a fair and equitable society? Music moves the soul like no other medium I think. Music causes us to dance and smile and  to feel warm and good inside. It sparks energy in us. What if we could somehow take the lyrics of a good song and integrate it to our societies woe’s and inequality and maybe somehow show each and every one of us that even though we see such injustices being perpetrated against us that we have the spirit of truth on our side which causes us to move with emotion to action and fervent dialogue about these injustices. Politically speaking, this song brings to mind the journey I have undertaken from being a progressive to a populist.

Left school with a first class pass,
Started work but as second class.                                   started out progressive and found them to be
School taught one and one is two.                                   ineffective for making real change
But right now, that answer just ain’t true.

The road we should take as the 99%, should not be one of the progressive stance but as a populist. Meaning in short; Progressives say to themselves I will work with what our current two-party system has given me and try to make it better by advocating the progressives strategy for change. I’ll work with what you give me in other words. Whereas the populist idea of political action is; We reject outright your basic assumptions of governance and have our own ideals to put forth in a form of a platform that speaks to our ideals. We the people tell you, our government officials how we will be governed. Don’t misconstrue this point. We are not anarchist here. We believe in government, and when we hear government for the people and by the people, we take that seriously. This in my best estimate should be the populist platform

1) monetary policy (mmt-pp) modern monetary policy and public purpose to be more specific

2) campaign finance reform

3) undo corporate person hood

Have hope my fellow countrymen, not in a very good orator, but in ourselves, and talk about these things among us so that we may share our see saw.

One thought on “an epiphany

Leave a Reply

